How Local Businesses Connect to Customers via Social Media

Image representing Facebook as depicted in Cru...

Image via CrunchBase

Are you connecting with your crowd?  You can learn to turn customers into raving fans by running campaigns and making them a recurring fixtures in your Social Media strategy.

 

How to turn customers into friends, fans and followers?

  1. Poll your Followers.  This is the fastest source of active conversation on any topic.  Ask them what types of recipes they want to see more of from your cooking show or what they want to see on this summers menu from your restaraunt.  Use Facebook Questions because it allows you to ask open-ended questions and create multiple choice polls.
  2. Trivia Promotions.  Consider offering reduced-price or free services as prizes for the first correct answer.  Be sure the platform you use has all the social media sharing tools built in so participants can use Facebook and Twitter to let their social networks know about the contest. After all, turning participants into promoters is one of the main reasons to run a crowdsourcing campaign in the first place.
  3. Ask for feedback(then do something about it).  Use Facebook discussions and ask an open-ended question.  Then have people vote on the best responses.

 

So don’t give up in the beginning if there is not a lot of participation.  Repeat the programs on a regular basis.   Trust that you have a clear understanding of the behaviors you’re trying to solicit and that your community is eager to participate.

So, are you connecting with your crowd?

About Nicole Griffin Eakin

Born in Columbus, Georgia at Fort Benning, my mother and I moved back to our hometown of Scottsboro, Alabama. My mother is my hero and the best role model a person could have. After she and my father divorced, she remarried and had 2 more children. We moved to Stone Mountain, Georgia after the tragic loss of my step father, where my family still resides. I am the oldest of 7 children. We call ourselves The Brady Bunch. I began writing as a form of self expression. Married and Divorced, I moved back to our hometown of Scottsboro. I am a single mother of 3 beautiful children. Wyatt, who 14 years old and begging for his motorcycle license. Which is not about to happen! My daughter Savanna, age 7, is the child that is most likely to one day break my heart. She is my mini-me. Daisy, age 2, will probably be the most mischievious of the three. She loves to sing! Children are a gift from God and I have definately been blessed! I have saved everything ever written which chronicles different periods in my life for them to have one day. Not to be read by them until they are much, much older! I have been asked numerous times why I did not write my life story. I remember thinking – Are you nuts…..!!?? As I have gotten older, I have decided that maybe one day....... I sure do not want anyone telling it for me! .
This entry was posted in social media maketing, strategy and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

