How to plan a poll for your Social Media Strategy

The Marketing Metrics Continuum provides a fra...

Image via Wikipedia

Marketing is not an art, contrary to popular belief, it is a science.  Marketers collect data, look at it, and then change their activities to show what they learn.

Polls and surveys, if planned right, can be a marketers most powerful tool.

How to plan a poll?

  1. Consider the nature of the problem area along with the group of people being polled.
  2. Outline a basic question.  For effective results, specific questions must be asked.  Figure out how to place yourself and how to communicate effectively.
  3. How you ask the questions plays a major factor.  Some researchers claim that open-ended questions show more of the real attitudes and opinions of the respondents.  They do not force them to make a decision which doesn’t show their actual feelings.  A forced choice question(multiple) is said to more reliable, less ambiguous, and that they successfully avoid subjective bias.  If the primary purpose of the poll is exploratory, the open-ended question might best be used.
  4. Respect the data.  Asking the right “what” questions are most useful when you use them to frame the all important question, “Why.”  The importance of “Why” is this:  Why moves you from cognition to connection from simply seeing what is happening to understanding the relationship of one event or trend to  another.

Polls are an extraordinary tool for marketers because by asking specific questions, the right way, they do not have to make assumptions.  By not having to assume anything they are able to analyze the results of the poll and without hesitation make necessary and effective changes.

About Nicole Griffin Eakin

Born in Columbus, Georgia at Fort Benning, my mother and I moved back to our hometown of Scottsboro, Alabama. My mother is my hero and the best role model a person could have. After she and my father divorced, she remarried and had 2 more children. We moved to Stone Mountain, Georgia after the tragic loss of my step father, where my family still resides. I am the oldest of 7 children. We call ourselves The Brady Bunch. I began writing as a form of self expression. Married and Divorced, I moved back to our hometown of Scottsboro. I am a single mother of 3 beautiful children. Wyatt, who 14 years old and begging for his motorcycle license. Which is not about to happen! My daughter Savanna, age 7, is the child that is most likely to one day break my heart. She is my mini-me. Daisy, age 2, will probably be the most mischievious of the three. She loves to sing! Children are a gift from God and I have definately been blessed! I have saved everything ever written which chronicles different periods in my life for them to have one day. Not to be read by them until they are much, much older! I have been asked numerous times why I did not write my life story. I remember thinking – Are you nuts…..!!?? As I have gotten older, I have decided that maybe one day....... I sure do not want anyone telling it for me! .
This entry was posted in Polls, search engine marketing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to How to plan a poll for your Social Media Strategy

  1. SEO ALIEN says:

    Hi Nicole, super tips on creating a poll! I found a poll site a while ago that is simply awesome! It also has a great plugin for WordPress to create some really cool looking polls. There are several other advantages as well. Here is the link for more information on Polldaddy and how to install it – http://seo-alien.com/tips-and-tricks/how-to-add-a-poll-to-your-websites-or-blog. Thanks for allowing me to share!

Leave a Reply

